Namaste, Bitches!!

In an unexpected turn of events, I fell in love with yoga. Now, yoga is a vital part of my daily routine.

My mind always runs in 100 different directions. I tend to either dwell on past moments and wonder what could have been, or have so many ideas for the future that the ideas paralyze me and I don’t end up getting anything done.

During the first class, I was a little impatient as I kept falling out of postures while everyone stood fierce and focused around me. Even so, I left the class feeling more energized than when I walked in.

At my first yoga class, I was given a yoga towel to roll over my mat.

The words, “Every day, in every way, I am stronger,” were embroidered at the top of the towel. I now think of that phrase every morning when I wake up.

Even as yoga has, in many places, morphed into a type of physical activity, I found that it has influenced my perspective of the type of person I want to be and how I live my life.

Here are some of my biggest takeaways from yoga, thus far:

1. Release to receive
2. You have to love yourself if you expect others to love you
3. All the space, flexibility and strength you need is inside of you, waiting to be used
4. Trust your intuition
5. If someone gives you negative vibes, it’s because s/he takes energy from you
6. We are all bound to each other by energetic threads….

It also helps me feel more connected to myself and those around me in a world where it is often too easy to feel alone in the bustle and stress of our daily lives.

Namaste, y’all!

Leave a Reply

