Meal Prep for beginners…

Breakfast
If I was home and in no particular rush, I would poach my eggs and toast my bread fresh. If you want to be super organised you can put each of the ingredients in a container that you pull out each morning ready to go so you don’t waste time searching for them. I would chop my mushrooms and portion out my spinach earlier and then cook fresh on the day. If I knew I was going to be super busy that morning I would pre-cook my eggs (i.e.boil instead of poach) and pre-cook my mushrooms and spinach so I would only have to reheat them and toast my bread.

Snack
For this snack, I would portion out my berries and nut and seed mix and place in one separate container. I would also portion out my yoghurt in a separate container and have these ready to go in the fridge.

Lunch
If I was making this particular meal a few days in advance, I would put all of the ingredients near each other in the fridge or together in a container, but not prepare it until that morning as the veggies, tuna and cheese all taste better fresh. This meal is an excellent example of how meal prep can be flexible. Remember that it is not always possible to prepare all of your meals, so it is important to adapt them to your needs and to suit how busy you are. For foods that you wish to eat fresh, it is a good idea to just prepare them the morning of. Three day old chopped cucumber isn’t most people’s cup of tea! In saying that, just having all the food in one spot saves you a small amount of time that would usually be spent searching through your fridge and cupboards.

Snack 2
For this snack, I would put my two carrots and apple in a bag and portion out my hummus in a small container. If I was in a massive hurry that morning, I would skip cutting the carrots and eat them whole with the hummus – so totally a personal preference!

Dinner
For this dinner recipe, I would definitely cook my chicken ahead of time when I am doing all my meal prep then reheat as I need it. I would portion out all the veggies and legumes, but not put them together until that night so they don’t go soggy.

I hope you girls have a little more understanding of what meal prep means and, more importantly, how to do it! Remember to only do what feels comfortable for you and make sure it suits your lifestyle. A little bit of meal prep is still better than none at all. Even if that is just chopping up a few veggies or grouping things in containers, you will feel so much better about cooking your food if you have it organised ready to go!

Leave a Reply

